Zoroastrians Holidays and facts

Zoroastrianism is an ancient Persian religion that was founded by the prophet Zoroaster in the 6th or 7th century BCE. It is one of the world’s oldest monotheistic religions and has had a significant impact on the development of other major religions, including Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.

Here are some of the major holidays and celebrations in Zoroastrianism:

  1. Nowruz: Celebrated on the spring equinox, Nowruz is the Zoroastrian New Year and is a celebration of renewal and new beginnings.
  2. Farvardegân: Celebrated in October or November, Farvardegân is a celebration of the souls of the departed and a time to honor ancestors.
  3. Mehregan: Celebrated in October or November, Mehregan is a festival of the harvest and a time to give thanks for the blessings of nature.
  4. Yalda: Celebrated on the winter solstice, Yalda is a festival that celebrates the victory of light over darkness.
  5. Sadeh: Celebrated in January or February, Sadeh is a festival that honors fire and is a time to warm up during the cold winter months.
  6. Tirgan: Celebrated in July, Tirgan is a festival of rain and fertility and is associated with the god Tishtrya.
  7. Gahambar: A series of six seasonal festivals that celebrate the changing seasons and the cycles of nature.

These holidays are typically marked by rituals, feasts, and celebrations that honor the forces of nature, the changing seasons, and the gods and goddesses associated with them. Zoroastrians also observe several fasts throughout the year, including a ten-day period of reflection and purification known as the “Days of Contrition”.

Zoroastrianism is practiced by a small community of followers, primarily in Iran and India, and is recognized as one of the world’s oldest monotheistic religions. Its central belief is in the existence of one god, Ahura Mazda, and the ongoing struggle between good and evil in the world.